Creamy Tomato & Chipotle infused Hummas, & Avocado Mayo!

Standard

With all the spare time on my hands, I have be throwing myself into the kitchen as much as I can.  In case you’re wondering I love love LOVE food and creating new recipes and such.  One thing I’m not so good at, however, is photographing them and making an actual recipe.  I don’t often accurately measure things, I’m more of an eyeball-it-and-fix-it-according-to-taste-test.  & these two condiments are no exception, I actually made them about a week ago, and have been meaning to post about it but haven’t due to shitty photos and lack of recipe.  But I’ll try.

For the hummas, I soaked, rinsed and boiled my chickpeas.  

Here is most of what I used (I kept discovering more food items later…)

Image

 

Ingredients:

- 1 cup cooked chickpeas

- 1 T tahini

- 4-6 T vinegar

- 1 tomato

- 1 chilli (no measurement here, purely depending on your level of spice)

- 1 glove garlic

- 1/3 large red onion

- Coconut milk (enough depending on desired texture

- 5 – 8 T chipotle spice (again, depending on how spice you like!

Method:  Pretty much blend it all up!  Keeps for a good amount of time also! So yum!

 

And here’s a pictorial of the finished avo mayo!

Image

Ingredients:

- 1 whole egg

- 2 T vinegar

- 2/3 C extra virgin olive oil

- 1 avocado

Method:

In a food processor, mix the egg with the vinegar, then slowly add in the oil with the processor still going, make sure the oil is entering in a thin constant stream.  Add in the avo! Yum!!!!

I think I added more vinegar than this by mistake, but it turned out good! I <3 things with a bit of a bite!

Note: I may have referred to myself as ‘vegan’ before, so I apologize for the false label. I keep a mostly vegan diet (I eat no meat and dairy, but DO eat eggs (only from my chickens tho… #eggsnob) and honey.

 

 

Like or don't what I say? Tell me....

